Freedom to Music
AVG Antivirus Warnings and Voting System
23 Jul 2010
For the past week, there have been complaints from some visitors that the site is “infected”.
This seems to be a warning from the AVG Antivirus software they have been using. The software whines about a coding style in the voting plugin that we’ve been using for the last couple of months.
There doesn’t seem to be a real problem; however since most AVG users will see this as a threat, I’ve disabled the voting plugin for the time being to stop the panic :)
Thanks to Jörg for providing the full warning message, so I could understand what AVG was picking on.
| Print article |

about 1 month ago
Hi Sakalli.
I use Norton Antivirus 2009 and when i came here, warns me about a virus (not today!)
best regards
Jose
about 1 month ago
I wondered about that. It’s occasionally happened before. Thanks for the update, and also thanks for all the great posts. As I’ve said, even when it’s something that doesn’t particularly interest me, I still enjoy reading them.
about 1 month ago
Hello Sakalli
I’ve got three java based virus ralated objects detected by Avira anti-virus and a well known Trojan too. The detection was confirmed by Windows Live One Care.
I’ve been following you for many years and I’m sure you’re not responsible for that, but the objects where very real. I got a new one right now, Java platform just started. Sorry to say, my friend.
about 1 month ago
FYI – I use AVG and still getting the warnings… but have no fear, I trust your site!
You turned me on to many prog acts I never would have of… so,,,
THANKS!!!
bongolong
about 1 month ago
Hmm… it seems I have to find a Windows system and take good look into these warnings myself :(
about 1 month ago
Google stopped me visiting your site, it said that someone had put malware into one or more of your downloads..
google has a cleanup for webmasters
about 1 month ago
The virus problem is real. Recently, each time I try to enter your blog a trojan tries to attack my computer. I use Avast! antivirus software and this – luckily – stopped the attack (so far…). I copy here for your information two consecutive error messages from Avast about the attacks:
#1:
File name: http://green.emapis.org/data/mootools.js
Mallware name: JS:Illredir-CL [Trj]
Mallware type: Trojan Horse
VPS version: 100724-1, 07/24/2010
#2:
File name: http://navy.ideacoreportal.com/data/mootools.js
Mallware name: JS:Illredir-CL [Trj]
Mallware type: Trojan Horse
VPS version: 100724-1, 07/24/2010\
From these messages it is obvious that the trojan is always the same but it uses different files to enter.
I think, the problem is related to .info not to your blog particularly.
I hope the problem solves somehow. I really love your blog and repeatedly thank you very much for your continuous work!
Sincerely yours,
Thalamus
about 1 month ago
Avira anti-vir has warned me for months I just ticked I trust this site.
about 1 month ago
Friend, it’s back but in another shape:
URL: http://www.sakalli.info/wp-content/themes/mystique/js/jquery.mystique.js?ver=1.72
Name: Link to Exploit Site (type 1317)
You won’t get any answers from using the above link, though…: -(
about 1 month ago
Sorry, I mean THIS link wpon’t get you any answers from AVG:
http://free.avg.com/ww-en/virus-encyclopedia?IDN=QEVJRF9JZF9leHB8JW5hbWUlPUxpbmsgdG8gRXhwbG9pdCBTaXRlICh0eXBlIDEzMTcpfA
Threat name: Exploit Link to Exploit Site (type 1317)
Process name: C:\\Program\Internet Explorer\iexplorer.exe
Process ID: 4932
Good luck!
about 1 month ago
I actually did use Google’s webmaster tools and it says the site is clean. SiteTruth too.
However since others do report it, there should be something somewhere. I’ll look into it.
about 1 month ago
Hi Sakalli!
For some weeks ago, AVG gave a warning at visiting your site, and blocked everything coming in from you.
Wenn I was fast enough to click on the Browser’s Stop-button (using Opera), AVG still gave the warning, but did not block your site :)
The warnings AVG is giving now, is the same as Jörg wrote about 3 days ago.
But with this warning your site is not(!) blocked by AVG.
It’s strange, but maybe you can contact AVG, what their scanner doesn’t like about your site-programming??
Maybe only a small change /(AVG or you) is enough?
Think it’s just a hoax of AVG, because you wrote Google-web-tools don’t find anything!
My experience is, that AVG-scanner is real sensitiv! ok?
Nevertheless: Keep up your good work on this site!
about 1 month ago
i use mcafee corporate version, and it caught one trojan when visiting your site. also some vlc track popped up out of nowhere. my macafee also detected and removed ten more trojans upon full scan executed immediately afterwards. this was before you removed the scoring plugin. i hope this removal fixes the prob cause your content is excellent and i’d hate to delete you from my bookmarks.
about 1 month ago
Sakalli,
good luck with the links & hints I did send you.
I’m sure the problems will be gone afterwards!
:)
about 1 month ago
Hi Sakalli !
What did you do?
No more exploit-warnings…. ?
about 1 month ago
Yesterday, I first upgraded the software and then upgraded the theme to a new version, customizing it from scratch.
All should be fixed now.
about 1 month ago
Sure it’s fixed ! :)
THANKS
:)
about 3 weeks ago
Sorry.
The warning is back!
about 3 weeks ago
Sorry, the warnings are back. My antivirus is AVG.
about 3 weeks ago
I’ve fixed it again, thanks for reporting.